Democrats: Boycott Big Oil's DNC Propaganda Events

dnc_vote_for_oil.pngBoth Politico and The Atlantic are hosting events during the Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia sponsored by the American Petroleum Institute, one of the organizations called out by Senate Democrats earlier this month for "perpetrating a sprawling web of misdirection and disinformation to block action on climate change." 

The American Petroleum Institute is a notorious front group for ExxonMobil, Koch Industries, and other climate polluters. With the paid collusion of Politico and The Atlantic, they are promoting their civilization-threatening Vote4Energy "voter education project," which calls for an "all-of-the-above energy strategy " with "increased production of oil and natural gas," denying the urgent scientific warnings about increased greenhouse pollution. 

For Democrats - including representatives of the Hillary Clinton campaign - to participate in a Big Oil propaganda event during the Democratic National Convention - is a unseemly grant of social license to this web of deception. We expect the members of the Democratic Party to stand by their professed principles and boycott these events.

To be delivered to Governor Jay Inslee (WA), Governor John Hickenlooper (CO), John Podesta, Chair, Hillary Clinton Campaign, Trevor Houser, Energy and Climate Advisor, Hillary Clinton Campaign, Neera Tanden, President and CEO, Center for American Progress, Rep. Jerry McNerney (CA-9), Rep. Xavier Becerra (CA-34), Rep. David Loebsack (IA-2), Rep. Ben Luján (NM-3), Rep. Joseph Crowley (NY-14), Rep. Gene Green (TX-29), and Sen. Chris Coons (DE-2):

Pledge not to participate in any event during the 2016 Democratic National Convention that is sponsored by the climate-denier group American Petroleum Institute.
12,714 signatures

Who's signing

Christina Tant
Donna Kneeland
Benedict Gombocz
Beverly Thompson
Arthur Wong
Leslie Fangman
Janice Lewsader
Matt Wilson
Katherine Mayers
Paola Iocco
Kristin Huntoon
Heather Gray
Krista Miller
Marc Demske
Richard Lane
John Dierig
Calvin Wills, Jr.
Alexandre Pereira
J. Cuci
Douglas Estes
Joe Coy
Lori Gasser
robin jones
Kathy Reifsnyder
David Lindsey
Walter Joslyn
Joseph Lemieux
william Holmes
Larry Wang
Rebecca Swanson

Showing 11764 reactions

  • Christina Tant
    signed 2016-07-30 13:05:29 -0700
    Christina Tant
  • Donna Kneeland
    signed 2016-07-30 12:51:50 -0700
  • Benedict Gombocz
    signed via 2016-07-30 12:44:51 -0700
  • Beverly Thompson
    signed 2016-07-30 12:37:24 -0700
    Beverly Thompson
  • Arthur Wong
    signed via 2016-07-30 11:38:52 -0700
  • Leslie Fangman
    signed via 2016-07-30 08:56:10 -0700
  • Janice Lewsader
    signed via 2016-07-30 08:54:43 -0700
  • Matt Wilson
    signed via 2016-07-30 08:02:49 -0700
  • Katherine Mayers
    signed 2016-07-30 07:39:45 -0700
    Katherine Mayers
  • Paola Iocco
    signed via 2016-07-30 07:34:56 -0700
  • Kristin Huntoon
    signed via 2016-07-30 07:21:32 -0700
    Kristin Huntoon
  • Heather Gray
    signed 2016-07-30 06:12:39 -0700
    We need Big Oil out out of politics. I am against fracking and transportation of fracked fuels. We’ve been fighting the pipelines in Massachusetts and other states for a few years now, with all the leaks and explosions to which they’re prone. The Boston area has thousands of leaks – even Northampton, a small city in western MA has hundreds of methane leaks. I am also against the TPP as it would make it possible for corporations like the big oil and gas companies to override the will of the states and the people, to our detriment. There is NO WAY they should be able to sue up to even the Federal government to get their way.

    We are out of time for dillydallying. Time to buckle down and clean up our act while we still can.
  • Krista Miller
    signed 2016-07-30 05:22:57 -0700
  • Marc Demske
    signed via 2016-07-30 05:16:30 -0700
    Marc S Demske
  • Richard Lane
    signed via 2016-07-30 05:05:47 -0700
    Richard Lane
  • John Dierig
    signed via 2016-07-30 04:18:45 -0700
  • Calvin Wills, Jr.
    signed via 2016-07-30 03:51:52 -0700
  • Alexandre Pereira
    signed via 2016-07-30 02:19:02 -0700
    Alexandre Manuel Miranda Pereira Pereira
  • J. Cuci
    signed via 2016-07-30 01:39:03 -0700

  • Douglas Estes
    signed 2016-07-29 21:28:30 -0700
  • Joe Coy
    signed via 2016-07-29 21:24:32 -0700
    Joe Coy
  • Lori Gasser
    signed via 2016-07-29 19:55:42 -0700
  • robin jones
    signed via 2016-07-29 19:04:29 -0700
    robin jones
  • Kathy Reifsnyder
    signed via 2016-07-29 18:44:50 -0700
    Kathy Reifsnyder
  • David Lindsey
    signed 2016-07-29 18:28:10 -0700
  • Walter Joslyn
    signed via 2016-07-29 18:27:15 -0700
  • Joseph Lemieux
    signed 2016-07-29 18:25:59 -0700
  • william Holmes
    signed via 2016-07-29 17:40:58 -0700
    william Holmes
  • Larry Wang
    signed via 2016-07-29 16:51:50 -0700
    Larry Wang
  • Rebecca Swanson
    signed via 2016-07-29 16:35:31 -0700