Democrats: Boycott Big Oil's DNC Propaganda Events

dnc_vote_for_oil.pngBoth Politico and The Atlantic are hosting events during the Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia sponsored by the American Petroleum Institute, one of the organizations called out by Senate Democrats earlier this month for "perpetrating a sprawling web of misdirection and disinformation to block action on climate change." 

The American Petroleum Institute is a notorious front group for ExxonMobil, Koch Industries, and other climate polluters. With the paid collusion of Politico and The Atlantic, they are promoting their civilization-threatening Vote4Energy "voter education project," which calls for an "all-of-the-above energy strategy " with "increased production of oil and natural gas," denying the urgent scientific warnings about increased greenhouse pollution. 

For Democrats - including representatives of the Hillary Clinton campaign - to participate in a Big Oil propaganda event during the Democratic National Convention - is a unseemly grant of social license to this web of deception. We expect the members of the Democratic Party to stand by their professed principles and boycott these events.

To be delivered to Governor Jay Inslee (WA), Governor John Hickenlooper (CO), John Podesta, Chair, Hillary Clinton Campaign, Trevor Houser, Energy and Climate Advisor, Hillary Clinton Campaign, Neera Tanden, President and CEO, Center for American Progress, Rep. Jerry McNerney (CA-9), Rep. Xavier Becerra (CA-34), Rep. David Loebsack (IA-2), Rep. Ben Luján (NM-3), Rep. Joseph Crowley (NY-14), Rep. Gene Green (TX-29), and Sen. Chris Coons (DE-2):

Pledge not to participate in any event during the 2016 Democratic National Convention that is sponsored by the climate-denier group American Petroleum Institute.
12,717 signatures

Who's signing

Sue Ellen Hargadon
Peter Townsend
James Jachimiak Jachimiak
Michael Lillian
sam crespi
Susan Peirce
dr eli Hegeman
Greg Pelham
Linda blair
Dan Latuff
Craig Hanson
Joan Moricca
Cyndi S
Ed Green
Brad Payne
Robert Dickinson Dickinson
William Davis
Georgia Shankel
Janice Carlson
zack kaldveer
Shinann Earnshaw
jennifer valentine
maynard crosby
paul morse
Bernadette Newburg
Carl Muecke
Rick Hart
Jacob Davis

Showing 11767 reactions

  • Sue Ellen Hargadon
    signed 2016-07-24 09:51:11 -0700
    Sue E Hargadon
  • Peter Townsend
    signed 2016-07-24 09:51:10 -0700
    Prove Democrats ARE different from Republicans, that Democrats not only know and say that climate change is real, but that Democrats are not owned by Big Oil!
  • William Davis
    @wndavis tweeted link to this page. 2016-07-24 09:51:10 -0700
  • James Jachimiak Jachimiak
    signed 2016-07-24 09:51:04 -0700
    James Jachimiak
  • Michael Lillian
    signed 2016-07-24 09:51:04 -0700
  • sam crespi
    signed 2016-07-24 09:50:55 -0700
    Sharon Crespi
  • Susan Peirce
    signed 2016-07-24 09:50:40 -0700
  • dr eli Hegeman
    signed 2016-07-24 09:50:36 -0700
  • Greg Pelham
    signed 2016-07-24 09:50:36 -0700
  • Linda blair
    signed 2016-07-24 09:50:33 -0700
    linda blair
  • Dan Latuff
    signed via 2016-07-24 09:50:32 -0700
  • Craig Hanson
    signed 2016-07-24 09:50:26 -0700
    Craig Hanson
  • Joan Moricca
    signed 2016-07-24 09:50:20 -0700
  • Cyndi S
    signed 2016-07-24 09:50:19 -0700
  • Ed Green
    signed 2016-07-24 09:50:19 -0700
    Ed Green
  • Brad Payne
    signed 2016-07-24 09:50:16 -0700
  • Robert Dickinson Dickinson
    signed 2016-07-24 09:50:15 -0700
  • William Davis
    signed 2016-07-24 09:50:11 -0700
  • Janice Carlson
    @janicelcarlson tweeted link to this page. 2016-07-24 09:50:09 -0700
  • Georgia Shankel
    signed 2016-07-24 09:49:59 -0700
    Promote renewable energy only. Leave coal and oil in the ground.
  • Janice Carlson
    signed 2016-07-24 09:49:49 -0700
  • zack kaldveer
    signed 2016-07-24 09:49:47 -0700
  • Shinann Earnshaw
    signed 2016-07-24 09:49:46 -0700
    The Petroleum industry has no place in the DNC. Just say no and get them out of there!
  • jennifer valentine
    signed 2016-07-24 09:49:43 -0700
  • maynard crosby
    signed 2016-07-24 09:49:33 -0700
    maynard crosby
  • paul morse
    signed 2016-07-24 09:49:32 -0700
  • Bernadette Newburg
    signed 2016-07-24 09:49:28 -0700
    Bonnie Newburg
  • Carl Muecke
    signed 2016-07-24 09:49:17 -0700
    Cari Muecke
  • Rick Hart
    signed 2016-07-24 09:49:12 -0700
    And move to prosecute Exxon for its lies and devastation.
  • Jacob Davis
    signed 2016-07-24 09:48:55 -0700