Democrats: Boycott Big Oil's DNC Propaganda Events

dnc_vote_for_oil.pngBoth Politico and The Atlantic are hosting events during the Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia sponsored by the American Petroleum Institute, one of the organizations called out by Senate Democrats earlier this month for "perpetrating a sprawling web of misdirection and disinformation to block action on climate change." 

The American Petroleum Institute is a notorious front group for ExxonMobil, Koch Industries, and other climate polluters. With the paid collusion of Politico and The Atlantic, they are promoting their civilization-threatening Vote4Energy "voter education project," which calls for an "all-of-the-above energy strategy " with "increased production of oil and natural gas," denying the urgent scientific warnings about increased greenhouse pollution. 

For Democrats - including representatives of the Hillary Clinton campaign - to participate in a Big Oil propaganda event during the Democratic National Convention - is a unseemly grant of social license to this web of deception. We expect the members of the Democratic Party to stand by their professed principles and boycott these events.

To be delivered to Governor Jay Inslee (WA), Governor John Hickenlooper (CO), John Podesta, Chair, Hillary Clinton Campaign, Trevor Houser, Energy and Climate Advisor, Hillary Clinton Campaign, Neera Tanden, President and CEO, Center for American Progress, Rep. Jerry McNerney (CA-9), Rep. Xavier Becerra (CA-34), Rep. David Loebsack (IA-2), Rep. Ben Luján (NM-3), Rep. Joseph Crowley (NY-14), Rep. Gene Green (TX-29), and Sen. Chris Coons (DE-2):

Pledge not to participate in any event during the 2016 Democratic National Convention that is sponsored by the climate-denier group American Petroleum Institute.
12,714 signatures

Who's signing

Bradley Tatro
Jordan Hooley
Alexandra Williams
joan Jackson
Monique Tonet
Janet Fraidstern
Franklin Kapustka
Valerie O Cornelius
Peter Schofield
Brianna Rainville
Rose and Michael Schulte
Kathleen Nicholas
Philipp Niems
Ramsey Montigny
Jean Farris
Sundriya Grubb
Carolyn Galluzzo
Jonathan Linville
aaron jacob lampe
Dr. Alexander Henrich
Jennifer baugh
katherine barnhart
Shaina S. Okalani Okalani
Annette Ahlander
Gary Roberts
Ted Piirro
jennifer Hedman
Chris Munton
Bob Smith

Showing 11764 reactions

  • Bradley Tatro
    signed via 2016-08-08 08:08:25 -0700
    Bradley Tatro
  • Jordan Hooley
    signed 2016-08-08 06:55:00 -0700
    Jordan Hooley
  • Alexandra Williams
    signed via 2016-08-07 18:50:39 -0700
    Alexandra Williams
  • joan Jackson
    signed via 2016-08-07 15:51:04 -0700
  • Monique Tonet
    signed via 2016-08-07 12:02:04 -0700
  • Janet Fraidstern
    signed via 2016-08-07 10:23:44 -0700
  • Franklin Kapustka
    signed via 2016-08-06 18:39:16 -0700
    Franklin Kapustka
  • Valerie O Cornelius
    signed via 2016-08-06 17:39:16 -0700
  • Peter Schofield
    posted about this on Facebook 2016-08-06 14:56:43 -0700
    .@TheDemocrats: Boycott Big Oil's #DemConvention Propaganda Events
  • Peter Schofield
    signed via 2016-08-06 14:56:25 -0700
  • Brianna Rainville
    signed 2016-08-06 09:39:10 -0700
  • Rose and Michael Schulte
    signed via 2016-08-06 08:59:44 -0700
  • Kathleen Nicholas
    signed via 2016-08-05 19:27:13 -0700
    Kathleen Nicholas
  • Philipp Niems
    signed via 2016-08-05 16:25:28 -0700
  • Ramsey Montigny
    signed 2016-08-05 13:12:33 -0700
    Ramsey Montigny
  • Jean Farris
    signed via 2016-08-05 09:14:57 -0700
  • Sundriya Grubb
    signed via 2016-08-05 01:54:07 -0700
    Sadly, we’ve come to expect this sort of deceit and self-serving corruption from some members of the DNC. Time to vote these idiots out of office!
  • Carolyn Galluzzo
    signed via 2016-08-04 23:54:20 -0700
    Carolyn Galluzzo
  • Jonathan Linville
    signed via 2016-08-04 23:27:21 -0700
  • aaron jacob lampe
    signed 2016-08-04 18:00:13 -0700
  • Dr. Alexander Henrich
    signed via 2016-08-04 17:11:02 -0700
  • Jennifer baugh
    signed via 2016-08-04 16:58:15 -0700
  • katherine barnhart
    signed via 2016-08-04 14:18:05 -0700
    katherine barnhart
  • Shaina S. Okalani Okalani
    signed via 2016-08-04 11:17:49 -0700
    Since we don’t have a green party this country is behind. I am disappointed yet glad that environmental protection plans are still being honored at the best they can!!!
  • Annette Ahlander
    signed via 2016-08-04 09:33:40 -0700
    Annette Ahlander
  • Gary Roberts
    signed via 2016-08-04 09:28:38 -0700
  • Ted Piirro
    signed 2016-08-04 08:37:14 -0700
  • jennifer Hedman
    signed via 2016-08-04 08:24:23 -0700
  • Chris Munton
    signed via 2016-08-04 07:59:46 -0700
  • Bob Smith
    signed via 2016-08-04 05:00:24 -0700