Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam

The GOP leadership's tax bill is a giveaway to the Koch brothers and ExxonMobil and a disaster for the rest of us. It recklessly opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge for oil drilling, gives special tax breaks specifically to the oil and gas industries, kills key support for renewable energy and electric vehicles, and even raises taxes on the survivors of climate disasters.

As the House considers the Senate bill, the 31 GOP members of the "Climate Solutions Caucus," with a stated commitment to "reducing climate risk," are key swing votes and could stop this bill. Seven members of the caucus voted against the House version - if 12 more join them, the #GOPTaxScam will be stopped. This tax bill doesn’t “reduce climate risk,” it increases it dramatically. It raises $4.5 trillion in taxes, especially on the working and middle class, in order to give $6 trillion in tax cuts, overwhelmingly to billionaires and multi-national corporations.

Just a few days ago, nine members of the Caucus sent a letter with three other Republicans to Senate leadership asking them to protect the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. Five of the Caucus signatories voted for the House version #GOPTaxScam—Reps. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL-26), Dave Reichert (R-WA-08), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-08), Ryan Costello (R-PA-06), and Patrick Meehan (R-PA-07).

Now they are thinking about voting for the Senate tax bill, which includes massive new tax breaks for oil and gas executives, opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to oil drilling, and threatens renewable energy investment.

Instead of spending $6 trillion of taxpayer money to funding tax corporate tax breaks, Congress should be putting Americans to work stopping climate change and building the economy of the future.

Now is the time for the Climate Solutions Caucus to take action to protect our climate and our country—before it's too late.

Refs: Reichert Arctic Refuge letter; Climate Solutions Caucus membership; House tax scam vote

Tell the Climate Solutions Caucus:

Protect the Arctic. Protect renewable energy. Protect our climate. Vote NO on the #GOPTaxScam.

20,000 signatures

Who's signing

Dena Schwimmer
Barbara Seematter
Nathan Nielsen
Anne Drury
Pauline Thomas-Brown
Mary Romanek
Debra Beasley
Deborah Williams
Sam Miller
Margaret Spallone
Carey Giffen
Loretta Fisher
Diane Trevino
Martha Wilson
Joanne Steele
Margaret Runfors Runfors
Tom Jansing Jr.
margaret medford
Brandon Perras
William Nusbaum
Nick Brannan
Bianca McArrell
F. olson
Rosa Camacho
Huron Wright-Campbell
Jenny Hoffman
Denyce Rusch

Showing 16161 reactions

  • Dena Schwimmer
    signed via 2017-12-12 15:59:37 -0800
  • Barbara Seematter
    signed 2017-12-12 15:49:59 -0800
  • Nathan Nielsen
    signed via 2017-12-12 15:44:21 -0800
  • Anne Drury
    signed via 2017-12-12 15:39:24 -0800
  • Pauline Thomas-Brown
    signed via 2017-12-12 15:28:31 -0800
  • Mary Romanek
    signed via 2017-12-12 15:03:12 -0800
  • Debra Beasley
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-12 14:39:57 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam via @climatehawkvote
  • Debra Beasley
    @artiesue51 tweeted link to this page. 2017-12-12 14:39:53 -0800
  • Debra Beasley
    signed 2017-12-12 14:39:28 -0800
  • Deborah Williams
    signed via 2017-12-12 14:31:15 -0800
  • Sam Miller
    signed via 2017-12-12 14:26:02 -0800
  • Margaret Spallone
    signed 2017-12-12 14:13:56 -0800
  • Carey Giffen
    signed via 2017-12-12 14:02:14 -0800
  • Loretta Fisher
    signed 2017-12-12 13:40:23 -0800
  • Diane Trevino
    signed 2017-12-12 13:33:08 -0800
  • Martha Wilson
    signed via 2017-12-12 13:28:42 -0800
  • Joanne Steele
    signed via 2017-12-12 13:00:25 -0800
  • Margaret Runfors Runfors
    signed 2017-12-12 12:51:31 -0800
  • Tom Jansing Jr.
    signed via 2017-12-12 12:25:18 -0800
  • margaret medford
    signed 2017-12-12 11:56:39 -0800
  • Brandon Perras
    signed via 2017-12-12 11:38:02 -0800
  • William Nusbaum
    signed via 2017-12-12 11:34:09 -0800
  • Nick Brannan
    signed 2017-12-12 11:30:11 -0800
  • Bianca McArrell
    signed 2017-12-12 11:25:45 -0800
  • F. olson
    signed via 2017-12-12 11:22:40 -0800
  • Karen
    signed via 2017-12-12 10:43:42 -0800
  • Rosa Camacho
    signed 2017-12-12 10:34:47 -0800
  • Huron Wright-Campbell
    signed via 2017-12-12 10:15:20 -0800
  • Jenny Hoffman
    signed via 2017-12-12 10:10:32 -0800
  • Denyce Rusch
    signed 2017-12-12 10:03:59 -0800