Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam

The GOP leadership's tax bill is a giveaway to the Koch brothers and ExxonMobil and a disaster for the rest of us. It recklessly opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge for oil drilling, gives special tax breaks specifically to the oil and gas industries, kills key support for renewable energy and electric vehicles, and even raises taxes on the survivors of climate disasters.

As the House considers the Senate bill, the 31 GOP members of the "Climate Solutions Caucus," with a stated commitment to "reducing climate risk," are key swing votes and could stop this bill. Seven members of the caucus voted against the House version - if 12 more join them, the #GOPTaxScam will be stopped. This tax bill doesn’t “reduce climate risk,” it increases it dramatically. It raises $4.5 trillion in taxes, especially on the working and middle class, in order to give $6 trillion in tax cuts, overwhelmingly to billionaires and multi-national corporations.

Just a few days ago, nine members of the Caucus sent a letter with three other Republicans to Senate leadership asking them to protect the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. Five of the Caucus signatories voted for the House version #GOPTaxScam—Reps. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL-26), Dave Reichert (R-WA-08), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-08), Ryan Costello (R-PA-06), and Patrick Meehan (R-PA-07).

Now they are thinking about voting for the Senate tax bill, which includes massive new tax breaks for oil and gas executives, opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to oil drilling, and threatens renewable energy investment.

Instead of spending $6 trillion of taxpayer money to funding tax corporate tax breaks, Congress should be putting Americans to work stopping climate change and building the economy of the future.

Now is the time for the Climate Solutions Caucus to take action to protect our climate and our country—before it's too late.

Refs: Reichert Arctic Refuge letter; Climate Solutions Caucus membership; House tax scam vote

Tell the Climate Solutions Caucus:

Protect the Arctic. Protect renewable energy. Protect our climate. Vote NO on the #GOPTaxScam.

20,000 signatures

Who's signing

Jayne Chase
Kazuko Mitose
Marie Nunez
Byron Montague
Holly Marczak
Barbara Jo Mullis
Thomas Shaw
Kevin Davis
Lou Mathews
Leila Nye
Eddie Cole
Luke Massman Johnson
Carolyn Weinstein
Steven Van Grouw
David J Laudig Jr
Julie Anderson
Julia Knier
Robert Wilcox
Gwen Purdy
Dollie Moir
David Rupp
Alice Vedova Vedova
Carolyn Britt
Mark Wirth
R Wells
Jeanette French
Julie Ozias
Dr. Elliot Goldberg
Karen Saum

Showing 16166 reactions

  • Byron Montague
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-06 12:13:51 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam
  • Jayne Chase
    signed 2017-12-06 12:13:49 -0800
  • Kazuko Mitose
    signed 2017-12-06 12:13:39 -0800
  • Marie Nunez
    signed 2017-12-06 12:13:39 -0800
  • Byron Montague
    signed 2017-12-06 12:13:35 -0800
  • Holly Marczak
    signed 2017-12-06 12:13:28 -0800
  • Barbara Jo Mullis
    signed 2017-12-06 12:13:25 -0800
  • Thomas Shaw
    signed 2017-12-06 12:13:17 -0800
  • Kevin Davis
    signed 2017-12-06 12:13:12 -0800
  • Lou Mathews
    signed 2017-12-06 12:13:04 -0800
  • Leila Nye
    signed 2017-12-06 12:12:50 -0800
  • Eddie Cole
    signed 2017-12-06 12:12:43 -0800
  • Luke Massman Johnson
    signed 2017-12-06 12:12:34 -0800
  • Carolyn Weinstein
    signed 2017-12-06 12:12:30 -0800
  • Steven Van Grouw
    signed 2017-12-06 12:12:18 -0800
  • David J Laudig Jr
    signed 2017-12-06 12:12:11 -0800
  • Julie Anderson
    signed 2017-12-06 12:12:08 -0800
  • Julia Knier
    signed 2017-12-06 12:12:05 -0800
  • Robert Wilcox
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:57 -0800
  • Gwen Purdy
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:57 -0800
  • Dollie Moir
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:56 -0800
  • David Rupp
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:50 -0800
  • Alice Vedova Vedova
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:49 -0800
  • Carolyn Britt
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:45 -0800
  • Mark Wirth
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:43 -0800
  • R Wells
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:33 -0800
  • Jeanette French
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:15 -0800
  • Julie Ozias
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:12 -0800
  • Dr. Elliot Goldberg
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:06 -0800
  • Karen Saum
    signed 2017-12-06 12:10:58 -0800