Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam

The GOP leadership's tax bill is a giveaway to the Koch brothers and ExxonMobil and a disaster for the rest of us. It recklessly opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge for oil drilling, gives special tax breaks specifically to the oil and gas industries, kills key support for renewable energy and electric vehicles, and even raises taxes on the survivors of climate disasters.

As the House considers the Senate bill, the 31 GOP members of the "Climate Solutions Caucus," with a stated commitment to "reducing climate risk," are key swing votes and could stop this bill. Seven members of the caucus voted against the House version - if 12 more join them, the #GOPTaxScam will be stopped. This tax bill doesn’t “reduce climate risk,” it increases it dramatically. It raises $4.5 trillion in taxes, especially on the working and middle class, in order to give $6 trillion in tax cuts, overwhelmingly to billionaires and multi-national corporations.

Just a few days ago, nine members of the Caucus sent a letter with three other Republicans to Senate leadership asking them to protect the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. Five of the Caucus signatories voted for the House version #GOPTaxScam—Reps. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL-26), Dave Reichert (R-WA-08), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-08), Ryan Costello (R-PA-06), and Patrick Meehan (R-PA-07).

Now they are thinking about voting for the Senate tax bill, which includes massive new tax breaks for oil and gas executives, opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to oil drilling, and threatens renewable energy investment.

Instead of spending $6 trillion of taxpayer money to funding tax corporate tax breaks, Congress should be putting Americans to work stopping climate change and building the economy of the future.

Now is the time for the Climate Solutions Caucus to take action to protect our climate and our country—before it's too late.

Refs: Reichert Arctic Refuge letter; Climate Solutions Caucus membership; House tax scam vote

Tell the Climate Solutions Caucus:

Protect the Arctic. Protect renewable energy. Protect our climate. Vote NO on the #GOPTaxScam.

20,000 signatures

Who's signing

Christine Caredda
Janice Kelley
Tim Stein
Lindi Higgins
Carlton Mcquay
Elliott Sernel
Rosalind Milliken
Jeanne Ward
Susan Lanspery
Caryn Wagner
Brian Mirand
Kathy Mawdsley
Louise Gikow
Tom Wendel
John Carr
Carol McClintic
Darwin Kellicut
Matthew Hastie
Daniel Celidonio
Dean Schwartzman
Molly Madden
William Krause
Joanne Kondratieff
Michael Guckian

Showing 16161 reactions

  • Tim Stein
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-06 12:17:53 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam
  • Christine Caredda
    signed 2017-12-06 12:17:49 -0800
  • Carlton Mcquay
    @cmac226 tweeted link to this page. 2017-12-06 12:17:48 -0800
  • Janice Kelley
    signed 2017-12-06 12:17:31 -0800
  • Peneople Gronski
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-06 12:17:29 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam
  • Tim Stein
    signed 2017-12-06 12:17:28 -0800
  • Lindi Higgins
    signed 2017-12-06 12:17:23 -0800
  • Carlton Mcquay
    signed 2017-12-06 12:17:21 -0800
  • Elliott Sernel
    signed 2017-12-06 12:17:16 -0800
  • Rosalind Milliken
    signed 2017-12-06 12:17:16 -0800
  • Jeanne Ward
    signed 2017-12-06 12:17:07 -0800
  • Susan Lanspery
    signed 2017-12-06 12:17:03 -0800
  • Caryn Wagner
    signed 2017-12-06 12:16:59 -0800
  • Brian Mirand
    signed 2017-12-06 12:16:57 -0800
  • Kathy Mawdsley
    signed 2017-12-06 12:16:57 -0800
  • Louise Gikow
    signed 2017-12-06 12:16:52 -0800
  • Tom Wendel
    signed 2017-12-06 12:16:52 -0800
  • John Carr
    signed 2017-12-06 12:16:42 -0800
  • Abraham Oboruemuh
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-06 12:16:39 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam
  • Carol McClintic
    signed 2017-12-06 12:16:37 -0800
  • Abraham Oboruemuh
    @AOmorenimwen tweeted link to this page. 2017-12-06 12:16:36 -0800
  • Darwin Kellicut
    signed 2017-12-06 12:16:35 -0800
  • Matthew Hastie
    signed 2017-12-06 12:16:19 -0800
  • Daniel Celidonio
    signed 2017-12-06 12:16:06 -0800
  • Dean Schwartzman
    signed 2017-12-06 12:15:59 -0800
  • Jayne Chase
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-06 12:15:57 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam
  • Molly Madden
    signed 2017-12-06 12:15:54 -0800
  • William Krause
    signed 2017-12-06 12:15:51 -0800
  • Joanne Kondratieff
    signed 2017-12-06 12:15:49 -0800
  • Michael Guckian
    signed 2017-12-06 12:15:43 -0800