Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam

The GOP leadership's tax bill is a giveaway to the Koch brothers and ExxonMobil and a disaster for the rest of us. It recklessly opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge for oil drilling, gives special tax breaks specifically to the oil and gas industries, kills key support for renewable energy and electric vehicles, and even raises taxes on the survivors of climate disasters.

As the House considers the Senate bill, the 31 GOP members of the "Climate Solutions Caucus," with a stated commitment to "reducing climate risk," are key swing votes and could stop this bill. Seven members of the caucus voted against the House version - if 12 more join them, the #GOPTaxScam will be stopped. This tax bill doesn’t “reduce climate risk,” it increases it dramatically. It raises $4.5 trillion in taxes, especially on the working and middle class, in order to give $6 trillion in tax cuts, overwhelmingly to billionaires and multi-national corporations.

Just a few days ago, nine members of the Caucus sent a letter with three other Republicans to Senate leadership asking them to protect the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. Five of the Caucus signatories voted for the House version #GOPTaxScam—Reps. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL-26), Dave Reichert (R-WA-08), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-08), Ryan Costello (R-PA-06), and Patrick Meehan (R-PA-07).

Now they are thinking about voting for the Senate tax bill, which includes massive new tax breaks for oil and gas executives, opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to oil drilling, and threatens renewable energy investment.

Instead of spending $6 trillion of taxpayer money to funding tax corporate tax breaks, Congress should be putting Americans to work stopping climate change and building the economy of the future.

Now is the time for the Climate Solutions Caucus to take action to protect our climate and our country—before it's too late.

Refs: Reichert Arctic Refuge letter; Climate Solutions Caucus membership; House tax scam vote

Tell the Climate Solutions Caucus:

Protect the Arctic. Protect renewable energy. Protect our climate. Vote NO on the #GOPTaxScam.

20,000 signatures

Who's signing

Hayli Walker
Hugh Sutherland
Jeffrey Watson
R.A. Dayton
Matias Cabeza
Alice Sather
betty Legum
Kathy Wentzell
helena marcus marcus
nikki wojtalik
Bruce Ackerman
Matt Michnovetz Michnovetz
Diane Sawtell
Barbara Ballenger
Henry Sanchez
Francisco J. Velez
Bel-Ami Margoles
Jack Travis
Helen Goldenberg
Virginia Wenslaff
Ellen Harrington
Minene Chan
dale averill
susan Spengler
Susan Perez

Showing 13642 reactions

  • Hayli Walker
    signed 2017-12-14 11:17:16 -0800
  • Hugh Sutherland
    signed 2017-12-14 10:39:52 -0800
  • Jeffrey Watson
    signed 2017-12-14 10:19:33 -0800
  • Kenneth
    signed 2017-12-14 09:58:46 -0800
  • R.A. Dayton
    signed 2017-12-14 09:18:50 -0800
  • Matias Cabeza
    signed 2017-12-14 08:57:29 -0800
  • Alice Sather
    signed 2017-12-14 08:53:03 -0800
  • betty Legum
    signed 2017-12-14 07:37:54 -0800
  • Kathy Wentzell
    signed 2017-12-14 07:28:16 -0800
  • helena marcus marcus
    signed 2017-12-14 06:16:26 -0800
  • nikki wojtalik
    signed 2017-12-14 05:02:11 -0800
  • Bruce Ackerman
    signed 2017-12-14 00:18:52 -0800
  • Matt Michnovetz Michnovetz
    signed 2017-12-13 23:26:36 -0800
  • Diane Sawtell
    signed 2017-12-13 22:40:10 -0800
  • Angela
    signed via 2017-12-13 22:25:01 -0800
  • Barbara Ballenger
    signed 2017-12-13 22:23:28 -0800
  • Henry Sanchez
    signed 2017-12-13 22:04:22 -0800
  • Francisco J. Velez
    signed 2017-12-13 21:58:16 -0800
  • Bel-Ami Margoles
    signed 2017-12-13 21:49:55 -0800
  • Jack Travis
    signed 2017-12-13 21:18:36 -0800
  • Helen Goldenberg
    signed 2017-12-13 20:44:44 -0800
  • Virginia Wenslaff
    signed 2017-12-13 20:03:05 -0800
  • Ellen Harrington
    signed 2017-12-13 20:00:16 -0800
  • Minene Chan
    signed 2017-12-13 19:45:22 -0800
  • dale averill
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-13 19:20:16 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam via @climatehawkvote
  • dale averill
    @7dale tweeted link to this page. 2017-12-13 19:20:13 -0800
  • dale averill
    signed 2017-12-13 19:19:57 -0800
  • susan Spengler
    signed 2017-12-13 18:49:17 -0800
  • Susan Perez
    signed 2017-12-13 17:31:19 -0800
  • Rita Boone
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-13 16:49:55 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam via @climatehawkvote