Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam

The GOP leadership's tax bill is a giveaway to the Koch brothers and ExxonMobil and a disaster for the rest of us. It recklessly opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge for oil drilling, gives special tax breaks specifically to the oil and gas industries, kills key support for renewable energy and electric vehicles, and even raises taxes on the survivors of climate disasters.

As the House considers the Senate bill, the 31 GOP members of the "Climate Solutions Caucus," with a stated commitment to "reducing climate risk," are key swing votes and could stop this bill. Seven members of the caucus voted against the House version - if 12 more join them, the #GOPTaxScam will be stopped. This tax bill doesn’t “reduce climate risk,” it increases it dramatically. It raises $4.5 trillion in taxes, especially on the working and middle class, in order to give $6 trillion in tax cuts, overwhelmingly to billionaires and multi-national corporations.

Just a few days ago, nine members of the Caucus sent a letter with three other Republicans to Senate leadership asking them to protect the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. Five of the Caucus signatories voted for the House version #GOPTaxScam—Reps. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL-26), Dave Reichert (R-WA-08), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-08), Ryan Costello (R-PA-06), and Patrick Meehan (R-PA-07).

Now they are thinking about voting for the Senate tax bill, which includes massive new tax breaks for oil and gas executives, opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to oil drilling, and threatens renewable energy investment.

Instead of spending $6 trillion of taxpayer money to funding tax corporate tax breaks, Congress should be putting Americans to work stopping climate change and building the economy of the future.

Now is the time for the Climate Solutions Caucus to take action to protect our climate and our country—before it's too late.

Refs: Reichert Arctic Refuge letter; Climate Solutions Caucus membership; House tax scam vote

Tell the Climate Solutions Caucus:

Protect the Arctic. Protect renewable energy. Protect our climate. Vote NO on the #GOPTaxScam.

20,000 signatures

Who's signing

Mark Wirth
R Wells
Jeanette French
Julie Ozias
Dr. Elliot Goldberg
Lou Plocher
Sharon Wright
Wendy Most
Suzanne McDonough
Lois White
Nakia Lilly
r taylor
Linda m
Delila Moseley
Sherra Picketts
Patricia Vance
Harriet Bachner
Peggy Krainman
Jerry Groves
Emily Garcia
Matt Ringquist
sakari Lindhen
Matthew Rubino
Leigh Anne Jasheway
Carol Devoss
Malik Griffin

Showing 13642 reactions

  • Mark Wirth
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:43 -0800
  • R Wells
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:33 -0800
  • Jeanette French
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:15 -0800
  • Julie Ozias
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:12 -0800
  • Dr. Elliot Goldberg
    signed 2017-12-06 12:11:06 -0800
  • Lou Plocher
    signed 2017-12-06 12:10:50 -0800
  • Robbi
    signed 2017-12-06 12:10:47 -0800
  • Sharon Wright
    signed 2017-12-06 12:10:46 -0800
  • Wendy Most
    signed 2017-12-06 12:10:45 -0800
  • Suzanne McDonough
    signed 2017-12-06 12:10:40 -0800
  • Lois White
    signed 2017-12-06 12:10:17 -0800
  • Nakia Lilly
    signed 2017-12-06 12:10:07 -0800
  • r taylor
    signed 2017-12-06 12:09:56 -0800
  • Linda m
    signed 2017-12-06 12:09:40 -0800
  • Delila Moseley
    signed 2017-12-06 12:09:35 -0800
  • Sherra Picketts
    signed 2017-12-06 12:09:34 -0800
  • Patricia Vance
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-06 12:09:19 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam
  • Patricia Vance
    signed 2017-12-06 12:09:05 -0800
  • Harriet Bachner
    signed 2017-12-06 12:09:05 -0800
  • Leigh Anne Jasheway
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-06 12:08:46 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam
  • Peggy Krainman
    signed 2017-12-06 12:08:45 -0800
  • Jerry Groves
    signed 2017-12-06 12:08:44 -0800
  • Matt Ringquist
    @MattRX75 tweeted link to this page. 2017-12-06 12:08:42 -0800
  • Emily Garcia
    signed 2017-12-06 12:08:38 -0800
  • Matt Ringquist
    signed 2017-12-06 12:08:35 -0800
  • sakari Lindhen
    signed 2017-12-06 12:08:32 -0800
  • Matthew Rubino
    signed 2017-12-06 12:08:31 -0800
  • Leigh Anne Jasheway
    signed 2017-12-06 12:08:26 -0800
  • Carol Devoss
    signed 2017-12-06 12:08:21 -0800
  • Malik Griffin
    signed 2017-12-06 12:08:19 -0800