Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam

The GOP leadership's tax bill is a giveaway to the Koch brothers and ExxonMobil and a disaster for the rest of us. It recklessly opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge for oil drilling, gives special tax breaks specifically to the oil and gas industries, kills key support for renewable energy and electric vehicles, and even raises taxes on the survivors of climate disasters.

As the House considers the Senate bill, the 31 GOP members of the "Climate Solutions Caucus," with a stated commitment to "reducing climate risk," are key swing votes and could stop this bill. Seven members of the caucus voted against the House version - if 12 more join them, the #GOPTaxScam will be stopped. This tax bill doesn’t “reduce climate risk,” it increases it dramatically. It raises $4.5 trillion in taxes, especially on the working and middle class, in order to give $6 trillion in tax cuts, overwhelmingly to billionaires and multi-national corporations.

Just a few days ago, nine members of the Caucus sent a letter with three other Republicans to Senate leadership asking them to protect the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. Five of the Caucus signatories voted for the House version #GOPTaxScam—Reps. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL-26), Dave Reichert (R-WA-08), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-08), Ryan Costello (R-PA-06), and Patrick Meehan (R-PA-07).

Now they are thinking about voting for the Senate tax bill, which includes massive new tax breaks for oil and gas executives, opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to oil drilling, and threatens renewable energy investment.

Instead of spending $6 trillion of taxpayer money to funding tax corporate tax breaks, Congress should be putting Americans to work stopping climate change and building the economy of the future.

Now is the time for the Climate Solutions Caucus to take action to protect our climate and our country—before it's too late.

Refs: Reichert Arctic Refuge letter; Climate Solutions Caucus membership; House tax scam vote

Tell the Climate Solutions Caucus:

Protect the Arctic. Protect renewable energy. Protect our climate. Vote NO on the #GOPTaxScam.

20,000 signatures

Who's signing

Frank Demme Demme
Gregory Fite
Jen Housel
Bryan Boppert
Suzanne Kruger
Bob Nutt
Paul Moss
Barbara Zlotowski
Robert Sikoryak
Parker Green
Oralia Preble-Niemi, Ph.D.
Mark Yackley
nicole breton
Victor Andrade
Linda Smith
John Sniegocki
David Collier
Jeremy Marusek
Ted Steege
william Moller
Sharon Buck
Mary Fowler
Collette Twyman
Carol George
Kathy Lehmkuhler
mark Pares Pares
Jessica Denham

Showing 16169 reactions

  • Frank Demme Demme
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:23 -0800
  • Gregory Fite
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:20 -0800
  • Jen Housel
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:18 -0800
  • Bryan Boppert
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:16 -0800
  • Suzanne Kruger
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:15 -0800
  • Bob Nutt
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:13 -0800
  • Paul Moss
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:09 -0800
  • Barbara Zlotowski
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:08 -0800
  • Robert Sikoryak
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:08 -0800
  • Parker Green
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:07 -0800
  • Oralia Preble-Niemi, Ph.D.
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:06 -0800
  • Mark Yackley
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:06 -0800
  • nicole breton
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:05 -0800
  • Dian Deevey
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-06 14:05:05 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam
  • Victor Andrade
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:05 -0800
  • Linda Smith
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:03 -0800
  • John Sniegocki
    signed 2017-12-06 14:05:01 -0800
  • David Collier
    signed 2017-12-06 14:04:56 -0800
  • Jeremy Marusek
    signed 2017-12-06 14:04:53 -0800
  • Ted Steege
    signed 2017-12-06 14:04:51 -0800
  • william Moller
    signed 2017-12-06 14:04:51 -0800
  • Sharon Buck
    signed 2017-12-06 14:04:49 -0800
  • Mary Fowler
    signed 2017-12-06 14:04:47 -0800
  • Kanwaldeep Sekhon
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-06 14:04:47 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam
  • Collette Twyman
    signed 2017-12-06 14:04:46 -0800
  • Carol George
    signed 2017-12-06 14:04:45 -0800
  • Kanwaldeep Sekhon
    @kansekgraphics tweeted link to this page. 2017-12-06 14:04:43 -0800
  • Kathy Lehmkuhler
    signed 2017-12-06 14:04:43 -0800
  • mark Pares Pares
    signed 2017-12-06 14:04:36 -0800
  • Jessica Denham
    signed 2017-12-06 14:04:35 -0800