Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam

The GOP leadership's tax bill is a giveaway to the Koch brothers and ExxonMobil and a disaster for the rest of us. It recklessly opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge for oil drilling, gives special tax breaks specifically to the oil and gas industries, kills key support for renewable energy and electric vehicles, and even raises taxes on the survivors of climate disasters.

As the House considers the Senate bill, the 31 GOP members of the "Climate Solutions Caucus," with a stated commitment to "reducing climate risk," are key swing votes and could stop this bill. Seven members of the caucus voted against the House version - if 12 more join them, the #GOPTaxScam will be stopped. This tax bill doesn’t “reduce climate risk,” it increases it dramatically. It raises $4.5 trillion in taxes, especially on the working and middle class, in order to give $6 trillion in tax cuts, overwhelmingly to billionaires and multi-national corporations.

Just a few days ago, nine members of the Caucus sent a letter with three other Republicans to Senate leadership asking them to protect the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. Five of the Caucus signatories voted for the House version #GOPTaxScam—Reps. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL-26), Dave Reichert (R-WA-08), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-08), Ryan Costello (R-PA-06), and Patrick Meehan (R-PA-07).

Now they are thinking about voting for the Senate tax bill, which includes massive new tax breaks for oil and gas executives, opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to oil drilling, and threatens renewable energy investment.

Instead of spending $6 trillion of taxpayer money to funding tax corporate tax breaks, Congress should be putting Americans to work stopping climate change and building the economy of the future.

Now is the time for the Climate Solutions Caucus to take action to protect our climate and our country—before it's too late.

Refs: Reichert Arctic Refuge letter; Climate Solutions Caucus membership; House tax scam vote

Tell the Climate Solutions Caucus:

Protect the Arctic. Protect renewable energy. Protect our climate. Vote NO on the #GOPTaxScam.

20,000 signatures

Who's signing

d hipworth
Norman Traum
Sharron Helmholz
Sandra greenstein
amanda Rewinkel
Colin Aldridge
Paul Hoggard
Nate Hildebrand
Karen Churness
Donald Harland
Celeste Groenenberg
Shannon Sorem
Ramon Hurtad Hurtad
Karen Rasmussen
Laura Thompson
Susan Burt
Jean Ross
P. Shontz
Emily Pecora
Leslie Perry
Keia Kato Berndt
Wanda Villet
Edwin Rogers
Corey Mac
Paula Crook

Showing 16169 reactions

  • Lynne
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:36 -0800
  • d hipworth
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:35 -0800
  • Norman Traum
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:34 -0800
  • Sharron Helmholz
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:32 -0800
  • Sandra greenstein
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:30 -0800
  • amanda Rewinkel
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:26 -0800
  • Colin Aldridge
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:22 -0800
  • Jean Ross
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-06 14:07:15 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam
  • Paul Hoggard
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:14 -0800
  • Nate Hildebrand
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:13 -0800
  • Susan Burt
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-06 14:07:12 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam
  • Karen Churness
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:10 -0800
  • Donald Harland
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:09 -0800
  • Celeste Groenenberg
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:09 -0800
  • Shannon Sorem
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:06 -0800
  • Ramon Hurtad Hurtad
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:05 -0800
  • Karen Rasmussen
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:04 -0800
  • Laura Thompson
    signed 2017-12-06 14:07:01 -0800
  • Susan Burt
    signed 2017-12-06 14:06:56 -0800
  • Jean Ross
    signed 2017-12-06 14:06:52 -0800
  • P. Shontz
    signed 2017-12-06 14:06:49 -0800
  • Philip Johnston
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-06 14:06:45 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam
  • Emily Pecora
    signed 2017-12-06 14:06:45 -0800
  • Leslie Perry
    signed 2017-12-06 14:06:43 -0800
  • Keia Kato Berndt
    signed 2017-12-06 14:06:42 -0800
  • Wanda Villet
    signed 2017-12-06 14:06:40 -0800
  • Edwin Rogers
    signed 2017-12-06 14:06:38 -0800
  • Corey Mac
    signed 2017-12-06 14:06:38 -0800
  • Elizabeth
    signed 2017-12-06 14:06:36 -0800
  • Paula Crook
    signed 2017-12-06 14:06:31 -0800