Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam

The GOP leadership's tax bill is a giveaway to the Koch brothers and ExxonMobil and a disaster for the rest of us. It recklessly opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge for oil drilling, gives special tax breaks specifically to the oil and gas industries, kills key support for renewable energy and electric vehicles, and even raises taxes on the survivors of climate disasters.

As the House considers the Senate bill, the 31 GOP members of the "Climate Solutions Caucus," with a stated commitment to "reducing climate risk," are key swing votes and could stop this bill. Seven members of the caucus voted against the House version - if 12 more join them, the #GOPTaxScam will be stopped. This tax bill doesn’t “reduce climate risk,” it increases it dramatically. It raises $4.5 trillion in taxes, especially on the working and middle class, in order to give $6 trillion in tax cuts, overwhelmingly to billionaires and multi-national corporations.

Just a few days ago, nine members of the Caucus sent a letter with three other Republicans to Senate leadership asking them to protect the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. Five of the Caucus signatories voted for the House version #GOPTaxScam—Reps. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL-26), Dave Reichert (R-WA-08), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-08), Ryan Costello (R-PA-06), and Patrick Meehan (R-PA-07).

Now they are thinking about voting for the Senate tax bill, which includes massive new tax breaks for oil and gas executives, opens up the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to oil drilling, and threatens renewable energy investment.

Instead of spending $6 trillion of taxpayer money to funding tax corporate tax breaks, Congress should be putting Americans to work stopping climate change and building the economy of the future.

Now is the time for the Climate Solutions Caucus to take action to protect our climate and our country—before it's too late.

Refs: Reichert Arctic Refuge letter; Climate Solutions Caucus membership; House tax scam vote

Tell the Climate Solutions Caucus:

Protect the Arctic. Protect renewable energy. Protect our climate. Vote NO on the #GOPTaxScam.

20,000 signatures

Who's signing

Lesley Vennero
Rose Niwa
Ryan Acebo
Julie McCarthy
Jennifer Wyatt
Joan Johnson
Judith Roberts
Christopher Escarcega
Michelle Adcock
David Kagan
Michael Cole
sharon johnson johnson
Russell Attoe
Andrew Hudson
judi Burbes
Karen viterna
Nicholas Cartabona
Brant Kotch
mary ann ford
Marge Dakouzlian
Adolfo Bermeo
Kathleen Keske
Emilie Disney hermans
M Hewitt
Diane Beeny
Morgan Belfer
Lora Newton

Showing 16171 reactions

  • Lesley Vennero
    signed 2017-12-12 00:36:05 -0800
  • Larry
    signed 2017-12-12 00:12:29 -0800
  • Rose Niwa
    signed via 2017-12-11 23:03:48 -0800
  • Ryan Acebo
    signed 2017-12-11 22:44:42 -0800
  • Julie McCarthy
    signed 2017-12-11 22:43:34 -0800
  • Jennifer Wyatt
    signed 2017-12-11 22:18:29 -0800
  • Joan Johnson
    signed 2017-12-11 21:13:43 -0800
  • Judith Roberts
    signed via 2017-12-11 20:58:37 -0800
  • Christopher Escarcega
    signed via 2017-12-11 20:58:26 -0800
  • Michelle Adcock
    signed 2017-12-11 20:51:48 -0800
  • David Kagan
    signed via 2017-12-11 20:13:50 -0800
  • Michael Cole
    signed via 2017-12-11 20:06:35 -0800
  • sharon johnson johnson
    signed 2017-12-11 19:37:53 -0800
  • Fred
    signed via 2017-12-11 19:25:51 -0800
  • Russell Attoe
    signed via 2017-12-11 19:15:13 -0800
  • Andrew Hudson
    signed 2017-12-11 19:10:48 -0800
  • judi Burbes
    signed via 2017-12-11 18:55:17 -0800
  • Karen viterna
    signed 2017-12-11 18:51:55 -0800
  • Nicholas Cartabona
    signed via 2017-12-11 18:40:28 -0800
  • Brant Kotch
    signed via 2017-12-11 18:38:49 -0800
  • mary ann ford
    signed via 2017-12-11 18:37:58 -0800
  • Marge Dakouzlian
    signed via 2017-12-11 18:16:39 -0800
  • Adolfo Bermeo
    signed 2017-12-11 18:16:36 -0800
  • Kathleen Keske
    signed 2017-12-11 18:07:28 -0800
  • Emilie Disney hermans
    signed via 2017-12-11 17:46:41 -0800
  • M Hewitt
    signed via 2017-12-11 17:30:43 -0800
  • Diane Beeny
    posted about this on Facebook 2017-12-11 17:19:03 -0800
    Sign the petition: Climate Solutions Caucus: Stop The #GOPTaxScam via @climatehawkvote
  • Diane Beeny
    signed via 2017-12-11 17:18:28 -0800
  • Morgan Belfer
    signed via 2017-12-11 17:16:01 -0800
  • Lora Newton
    signed via 2017-12-11 17:13:55 -0800